Breaking News
More () »

Reagan Dunn concedes in primary race for Congressional District 8

Incumbent Kim Schrier and challenger Matt Larkin will move onto the general election.

OLYMPIA, Wash. — King County Councilmember Reagan Dunn conceded in the primary election race for Congressional District 8 on Thursday.

Incumbent Kim Schrier, who leads with 48% of the vote, and challenger Matt Larkin will move onto the general election. Larkin trailed with 17% of the vote on Thursday, two points ahead of Dunn. 

Locke said Larkin's emphasis on agricultural issues and his agricultural roots could help him best Dunn for the second spot in the November election by appealing to eastern Washington voters. 

"Of course it really depends on who the Republican challenger will be in November," Locke said. 

Former Washington State Attorney General and KING 5 political analyst Rob McKenna said Larkin's ad campaign and his 2020 campaign for attorney general may have increased his name recognition with voters, which could benefit him in the primary. His focus on public safety and law enforcement may also have given him a boost with voters, McKenna said. 

"We also know there are other issues like the economy, inflation," McKenna said. "Pocketbook issues do drive voters and they can result in things changing."

On Tuesday night, Schrier said she's confident she will come out on top once again in November. 

"The people of this district know that I have been exactly that person, that pragmatic centrist who will work with anybody, Democrats, Republican, Independent, if it is good for the 8th District," she said. "I have a record of success there and that’s why I feel comfortable with the makeup of this district that I will win again and hope to earn their votes in November."

Incumbents from all 10 of Washington's Congressional districts are facing at least one challenger.

Representatives are elected to a two-year term and serve people in specific districts. The number of voting representatives for all 50 states in the U.S. House is no more than 435.

Check the latest primary election results

District 1

Suzan DelBene, who represents District 1, is being challenged by Matthew Heines, Derek Chartrand, Vincent Cavaleri, and Tom Spears.

District one encompasses Whatcom, Skagit, Snohomish counties and about one-third of King County.

District 2 

Incumbent Rick Larsen faces Cody Hart, Dan Matthews, Doug Revelle, Bill Wheeler, Jon Welch, Brandon Lee Stalnaker, Jason Call, Leif Johnson, and Carrie R. Kennedy for District 2.

District 2 includes Island and San Juan counties.

District 3

Republican Jaime Herrera Beutler is facing opposition from within her own party for District 3, which encompasses a number of counties in southern and central Washington. Beutler is being challenged by Chris Byrd, Marie Gluesenkamp Perez, Vicki Kraft, Oliver Black, Heidi St. John, Davy Ray, Leslie L. French, and Joe Kent.

District 3 includes Lewis, Pacific Wahkiakum, Cowlitz, Clark, Skamania, and Klickitat counties, along with a portion of Thurston County.

District 4

In District 4, incumbent Dan Newhouse faces challengers Corey Gibson, Loren Culp, Brad Klippert, Jacek Kobiesa, Doug White, Benancio Garcia III, and Jerrod Sessler.

District 4 includes a large portion of central Washington, including Douglas, Okanogan, Grant, Yakima, Franklin, Benton, and Adam counties, along with a portion of Walla Walla County.

District 5

In District 5, incumbent Cathy McMorris Rodgers faces challengers Natasha Hill, Sean Clynch, and Anne Marie Danimus.

District 5 includes Ferry, Stevens, Pend Oreille, Lincoln, Spokane, Whitman, Walla Walla, Columbia, Garfield, and Asotin counties.

District 6

District 6 incumbent Derek Kilmer faces challengers Rebecca Parson, Tom Triggs, Chris Binns, Todd Bloom, and Elizabeth Kreiselmaier.

District 6 includes the Olympic peninsula, most of Kitsap, and much of Tacoma.

District 7

District 7 incumbent Pramila Jayapal faces challengers Cliff Moon, Jesse James, and Paul Glumaz.

District 7 includes most of Seattle, Vashon Island, Edmonds, Shoreline, Normandy Park, and Lake Forest Park.

District 8

Incumbent Kim Schrier faces challengers Emet Ward, Reagan Dunn, Matt Larking, Dave Chapman, Ryan Dean Burkett, Justin Greywolf, Keith Arnold, Patrick Dillon, Jesse Jensen, and Scott Stephenson.

District 8 includes portions of King and Pierce cuonties, as well as Chelan and Kittitas counties.


District 9

District 9 incumbent Adam Smith faces challengers Doug Basler, David Michael Anderson, Sea Chan, Seth Pedersen, and Stephanie Gallardo.

District 9 includes the central Puget Sound region from Tacoma to Bellevue.

District 10

District 10 incumbent Marilyn Strickland face challengers Richard Boyce, Keith Swank, Eric Mahaffy, and Dan Earnest.

District 10 spans from west of Olympia, north to Puyallup.

WATCH: How your vote is counted

Paid Advertisement

Before You Leave, Check This Out