Breaking News
More () »

Results from Washington's top 2021 primary election races

Here are the top races we're tracking in the Washington state primary election, including Seattle and Tacoma mayors, and King County executive.

Incumbent Dow Constantine and State Sen. Joe Nguyen are leading the primary race for King County executive.

An initial round of election returns was released shortly after 8 p.m. on election day. These returns are from ballots that were turned in early and tabulated. 

Counties will release additional results in the days after the election as more ballots are counted. Additional results are typically released daily.

The top two candidates in the primary move on to the November general election.

The County Canvassing Boards will certify primary election results August 17, and the Secretary of State will certify results August 20.

Complete election results are posted at king5.com/elections. 

King County executive

Incumbent Dow Constantine is leading the race after the latest ballot count with 53% of the vote.

State Sen. Joe Nguyen, thought to be Constantine's first serious challenger in years, is trailing with 32% of the vote.

Constantine hasn't faced a serious challenge since 2009 when he was first elected over former TV anchor Susan Hutchison. 

Constantine is seeking his fourth term as county executive. If elected, he will be the longest-serving executive for King County since the current governance system was adopted in the 1960s.

Bill Hirt follows Nguyen with 11%, then Goodspaceguy with nearly 3% and Johnathon Crines with 2%.

The county executive is the highest elected official to serve the residents of King County.

More coverage

King County's Proposition 1

King County Prop. No. 1's approval rating held at 62% following the latest ballot count Aug. 6.

King County Proposition No. 1 would not only renew a property-tax levy approved by voters in 2015 but also increase the amount owners would pay. Taxpayers would see an increase from 14 cents per $1,000 assessed value to 19 cents per $1,000 for six years.

It would cost $114 for a property with an assessed value of $600,000.

More coverage

Seattle mayor

Former Seattle City Council President Bruce Harrell is leading in the primary mayor race for the city.

Harrell kept his lead Friday after the fourth round of ballots were counted with 35% of the vote.

M. Lorena González, who was elected to the city council in 2015 and began serving as council president in 2020, has 31% of the vote.

Colleen Echohawk is trailing with 10% of the vote, followed by Jessyn Farrell with 7%. 

More coverage

Tacoma mayor

Incumbent Victoria Woodards has a strong lead in the primary mayoral race.

After the latest ballot count, Woodards has 52% of the vote.

Steve Haverly trails with 32% of the vote, followed by Jamika Scott, with 16% of the vote.

Woodards has been mayor since 2018.

The mayor of Tacoma serves a four-year term.

More coverage

Seattle City Council

Position 8

Incumbent Teresa Mosqueda held her lead in the primary race for Seattle City Council Position 8 after another round of ballots were counted Friday.

Mosqueda has 59% of the vote.

Trailing is Kenneth Wilson with 17% of the vote, followed by Kate Martin with 12% of the vote. 

Mosqueda was elected to the council in 2017 as a first-time candidate with nearly 60% of the vote.

More coverage

Position 9

Sara Nelson and Nikkita Oliver held their lead in the primary race for position 9 on the Seattle City Council Friday.

Nelson leads with 40% of votes, followed by Oliver with 39% of the vote.

Nelson, the co-owner of Fremont Brewing, ran against Mosqueda in 2017, and said she decided to run to help "get the city back on track," and wants to get the voice of a small business owner on the council. 

Attorney and civic activist Nikkita Oliver, who ran for Seattle mayor in 2017, says on their campaign website that "meeting basic needs is a baseline for community safety." 

More coverage

Seattle city attorney

Incumbent Pete Holmes conceded the race for Seattle city attorney after trailing behind challengers Nicole Thomas-Kennedy and Ann Davison in his effort to be re-elected.

As of Friday afternoon, Thomas-Kennedy led with 36% of the vote.

Davison is trailing Thomas-Kennedy with 33% of the vote. Holmes was close behind with 31% but is unlikely to bridge the gap after the remaining ballots are counted. 

More coverage

King County Council

Three King County Council members face competition for their positions – District 3, 7 and 9.

District 3

District 3 incumbent Kathy Lambert is leading the race to represent the largest district, covering nearly half of King County.

Lambert currently holds 41% of the vote, followed by Sarah Perry with 35% and Joe Cohen with 24%.

Lambert, who rarely faces tough competition, is seeking her sixth term. She was elected in 2001 with about 64% of the vote. She ran unopposed for three elections. She was elected again for a fifth term in 2017.

District 7

District 7 incumbent Pete Von Reichbauer has a strong lead in his effort to advance to the general election.

Von Reichbauer leads with 53% of the vote, followed by Lydia Assefa-Dawson and Dominique Torgerson who each have 17%, and Saudia J. Abdullah with 13%.

Von Reichbauer, running for his eighth term, was elected to the county council in 1993 and ran unopposed in the past three elections.

District 9

Incumbent Reagan Dunn is leading the primary race as he seeks to get his name on the ballot for November's general election.

Dunn holds 56% of the vote.

Kim-Khanh Van is trailing with 22% of the vote, followed by Chris Franco with 16% and Ubax Gardheere, with 6%.

Dunn was appointed to the council in 2005 after Rob McKenna was elected to state attorney general. He has since been re-elected and is now seeking a fourth term to represent a large portion of southeast King County.