Breaking News
More () »

Ed Troyer leads race for Pierce County Sheriff in Washington's primary

The retirement of Pierce County Sheriff Paul Pastor leaves an open race.

Pierce County Sheriff's spokesperson Ed Troyer leads the race for sheriff with 53% of the vote after the second round of election returns were released Wednesday afternoon.

Pierce County Sheriff's lieutenant Cyndie Fajardo trails with 20% of the votes, followed by Pierce County Council Chair Doug Richardson with 16% and Department of Defense Police Officer Sergeant Darin Harris with 10%.

The candidates are vying to replace Piece County Sheriff Paul Pastor, who retires this year after 19 years in the role. Pastor had planned to retire in April but withdrew his retirement to finish out his term so he could help the county tackle the coronavirus pandemic.

“I was shocked at the numbers,” Troyer told KING 5 on Tuesday. “My priorities are to do what the police are supposed to do and that is to keep people safe and make sure that you feel safe.”

Troyer said he supports non-police alternatives to addressing issues involving mental health, homelessness, and addiction. He also supports expanding a department program that pairs mental health professionals with deputies.

“I’d love to double it right away and make sure that people who need help get the help they need instead of going through the revolving door of jail," he said

Meet the candidates: 

  • Darin G. Harris is an Army veteran who is a Department of Defense Police Officer Sergeant.
  • Doug Richardson is the former mayor of Lakewood and currently sits on the Pierce County Council, serving as its chair.
  • Ed Troyer has spent 35 years in the Pierce County Sheriff's Department and has been the department's spokesperson for 19 years.
  • Cyndie Fajardo has been with the Pierce County Sheriff's Department for 32 years and is a lieutenant.

The position is nonpartisan. The two candidates who get the most votes will advance to the general election.

The candidates' platforms and full bios are available in the Pierce County Primary voters guide.