Breaking News
More () »

KING 5 receives six Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards

Station awards include overall excellence, investigative reporting and news series
Credit: KING 5

The Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) has honored KING 5 with six 2022 Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards, including the award for overall excellence for the eighth year in a row.

Of the 16 categories for the Northwest region (Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, Washington), KING 5 was recognized in six. In all, TEGNA received 19 total Regional Murrow Awards across four Northwest stations, winning more awards than any other local broadcast television group.

“KING 5’s commitment to local investigative journalism, to adding context to daily news, to telling the stories of the PNW through the voices of our diverse audience is central to who we are as journalists,” said Julie Wolfe, news director. “The Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards are a recognition of the hard work KING 5 journalists, and journalists across the country, are doing every day. Congratulations to all of the regional winners for your commitment to journalism.”

Among the honors were three awards for the KING 5 investigative reporting team and their work to shed light on environmental threats, their cultural repercussions and moral health issues. KING 5 news teams were also recognized for outstanding coverage of the security breach at the state capitol in Olympia and the devastating and historic flooding our region faced last November.


Overall Excellence

KING 5 news staff

Breaking News Coverage

Security Breach at the State Capitol

Jessica Janner Castro, Drew Mikkelsen, Rebecca Perry, Tom Tedford, Jordan Treece, Mason Waldvogel

Continuing Coverage

Skagit: River of Light and Loss

Ryan Coe, Eric Desrosiers, Susannah Frame

Investigative Reporting 

COVID Exemptions for a Price

Ryan Coe, Eric Desrosiers, Kendra Gilbert, Chris Ingalls, Taylor Mirfendereski

News Series

Ticket to an Autopsy

Ryan Coe, Chris Ingalls, Adam Thompson


November Flooding

Adam Claibon, Greg Copeland, Chris Daniels, Lionel Donovan, Chris Egan, Tim Hahn, Jessica Janner Castro, Glenn Farley, Dustin Gagne, Kalie Greenberg, Ted Land, Drew Mikkelsen, Mike Perry, Josh Pflug, Joyce Taylor, Todd Toney, Mason Waldvogel, Keely Walker, Eric Wilkinson

The awards recognize the best in electronic journalism produced by radio, television and digital news organizations around the world. This year, RTDNA will award more than 700 regional awards in 14 regions, announcing winners daily through the end of May. KING 5’s winning entries now advance to the national RTDNA competition, which includes digital news organization, network and student competitors. National winners will be announced in summer 2022.

Before You Leave, Check This Out