Where you can and can't set off fireworks in Western Washington
Where and when it's legal to light off fireworks in Western Washington.
Author: KING Staff
Published: 7:04 PM PDT June 26, 2017
Updated: 11:19 AM PDT June 30, 2019
EVENTS 19 Articles

Where is it legal to set off fireworks this Fourth of July?

Most major cities do not allow residents to light off fireworks, including Seattle, Tacoma, Everett, and Kent. However, some smaller municipalities and unincorporated county areas do allow backyard pyrotechnics.

The following list shows cities and counties that allow residents to set off fireworks, in accordance with state law. If counties or cities have passed ordinances restricting state law, dates and times when residents are permitted to light fireworks are also listed.

If a city is NOT LISTED, lighting off fireworks IS BANNED.

Related: Best spots to watch the fireworks this Fourth of July

State law allows fireworks to be set off around the Fourth of July at the following times:

  • June 28 – 12 p.m. to 11 p.m.
  • June 29 to July 3 – 9 a.m. to 11 p.m.
  • July 4 – 9 a.m. to 12 a.m.
  • July 5 – 9 a.m. to 11 p.m.

View statewide fireworks regulations by county and municipality on the Washington State Patrol’s website.

EXPLORE

Where you can and can't set off fireworks in Western Washington

EVENTS
Chapter 1

Clallam

County – Follows state law

Forks – Follows state law

Chapter 2

Clark

County – 

  • South of 219th Street: July 4: 9 a.m. to 12 a.m. 
  • North of 219th Street: Follows state law, except no discharge July 5

Battle Ground – Follows state law

Camas – July 3: 9 a.m. to 11 p.m.; July 4: 9 a.m. to 12 a.m.

La Center – June 29 to July 3: 10 a.m. to 10 p.m.; July 4: 10 a.m. to 11 p.m.

Ridgefield – Follows state law, except July 5: 9 a.m. to 9 p.m.

Washougal – July 4: 9 a.m. to 12 a.m.

Yacolt – Follows state law

Chapter 3

Cowlitz

County – Follows state law

Castle Rock – Follows state law

Kalama – Follows state law except on July 4: 9 a.m. to 11 p.m. and July 5: 9 a.m. to 9 p.m.

Kelso – Follows state law except July 5: 9 a.m. to 9 p.m.

Longview – Follows state law

Woodland – Follows state law

Chapter 4

Grays Harbor

County – Follows state law

Aberdeen – July 4: 9 a.m. to 12 a.m.

Cosmopolis – July 4: 9 a.m. to 12 a.m.

Elma – Follows state law

Grayland – Follows state law

Hoquiam – July 3: 9 a.m. to 11 p.m. and July 4: 9 a.m. to 12 a.m.

McCleary – Follows state law

Montesano – Follows state law

Oakville – Follows state law

Ocean Shores - Discharge only along the beach between Marine View Drive Beach access and Damon Beach Approach, 100 feet west of dunes July 2 – 3: 12 p.m. to 11 p.m.; July 4: 12 p.m. to 12 a.m.

Westport - Discharge only along the beach at Half Moon Bay, 200 feet west of grass line, July 4: 9 a.m. to 11 p.m.

Chapter 5

Island

County – 

  • July 3: 9 a.m. to 11 p.m. 
  • July 4: 9 a.m. to 12 a.m. 
  • July 5: 9 a.m. to 11 p.m.

Coupeville – July 4: 9 a.m. to 11 p.m.

Langely – July 4: 9 a.m. to 12 a.m.

Oak Harbor – Follows state law

Chapter 6

Jefferson

County – Follows state law

Port Ludlow – Follows state law

Chapter 7

King

County – July 4: 9 a.m. to 12 a.m.

Auburn – July 4: 9 a.m. to 11 p.m.

Black Diamond – July 4: 9 a.m. to 12 a.m.

Bothell – July 4: 9 a.m. to 11 p.m.

Covington – July 4: 9 a.m. to 12 a.m.

Duvall – July 4: 9 a.m. to 11 p.m.

Enumclaw – July 4: 9 a.m. to 11 p.m.

Hunts Point – Follows state law, except no discharge July 4 between 9:30 p.m. and 15 minutes before the Points 4 Display

Mercer Island – July 4: 11 a.m. to 11 p.m.

Normandy Park – July 3: 6 p.m. to 11 p.m.; July 4: 4 p.m. to 11 p.m.

North Bend – July 4: 9 a.m. to 12 a.m.

Pacific – July 4: 9 a.m. to 11 p.m.

Skykomish – Follows state law

Snoqualmie – July 4: 9 a.m. to 12 a.m. (aerial fireworks banned)

Chapter 8

Kitsap

County – July 4: 11 a.m. to 11 p.m.

Bainbridge Island – July 4: 5 p.m. to 11 p.m.

Bremerton – July 4: 11 a.m. to 11 p.m.

Port Orchard – July 4: 11 a.m. to 11 p.m.

Poulsbo – June 28: 12 p.m. to 11 p.m.; June 29 – July 4: 9 a.m. to 11 p.m.; July 5: 9 a.m. to 9 p.m.

Chapter 9

Lewis

County – Follows state law

Centralia – Follows state law

Chehalis – Follows state law

Morton – Follows state law

Mossyrock – Follows state law

Napavine – Follows state law

Pe Ell – Follows state law

Toledo – Follows state law

Vader – Follows state law

Winlock – Follows state law

Chapter 10

Mason

County – Follows state law

Chapter 11

Pacific

County – Follows state law

Ilwaco – Follows state law

Long Beach – Follows state law

Raymond – Follows state law except on July 5: 9 a.m. to 12 p.m.

South Bend – Follows state law

Chapter 12

Pierce

County – 

  • July 1 – July 3: 10 a.m. to 11 p.m. 
  • July 4: 10 a.m. to 12 a.m.
  • July 5: 10 a.m. to 11 p.m.

Bonney Lake – July 4: 9 a.m. to 12 a.m.

Buckley – July 2 to July 3: 9 a.m. – 11 p.m., July 4: 9 a.m. to 12 a.m., July 5: 9 a.m. to 11 p.m.

DuPont – July 3: 12 p.m. to 11 p.m., July 4: 12 p.m. to 12 a.m.

Eatonville – July 3 – 4: 12 p.m. to 11 p.m.

Edgewood – July 4, 9 a.m. to 12 a.m.

Fife – Follows state law

Gig Harbor – July 1 – 3: 9 a.m. to 11 p.m.; July 4: 9 a.m. to 12 a.m.

Lakewood – July 3 – 5: 11 a.m. to 11 p.m.

Milton – July 4: 9 a.m. to 11 p.m.

Orting – July 4: 9 a.m. to 12 a.m.

Puyallup – July 4: 9 a.m. to 11 p.m.

Roy – Follows state law

South Prairie – Follows state law

Sumner – July 4: 12 p.m. to 12 a.m.

University Place – July 4: 9 a.m. to 12 a.m.

Wilkeson – Follows state law

Chapter 13

San Juan

County – Banned

Chapter 14

Skagit

County – Follows state law

Hamilton – Follows state law

Lyman – Follows state law

Mount Vernon – July 4: 12 p.m. to 12 a.m.

Sedro-Woolley – July 4: 9 a.m. to 11 p.m.

Chapter 15

Skamania

County – Follows state law

North Bonneville – July 4: 9 a.m. to 12 a.m.

Stevenson – Follows state law

Chapter 16

Snohomish

County – July 4: 9 a.m. to 12 a.m.

Arlington – July 4: 9 a.m. to 12 a.m.

Darrington – Follows state law

Granite Falls – July 4: 9 a.m. to 12 a.m.

Index – July 4: 9 a.m. to 12 a.m.

Lake Stevens – July 4: 9 a.m. to 12 a.m.

Monroe – July 4: 9 a.m. to 12 a.m.

Snohomish – July 1 – 4: 9 a.m. to 11 p.m.

Stanwood – Follows state law

Sultan – Follows state law

Related: Fireworks ban proposed for parts of Snohomish County

Chapter 17

Thurston

County – July 3 – 4: 9 a.m. to 11 p.m.

Bucoda – Follows state law

Rainier – Follows state law

Tenino – Follows state law

Yelm – Follows state law, except no discharge on July 5

Chapter 18

Wahkiakum

County – Follows state law

Cathlamet – Follows state law

Chapter 19

Whatcom

County – 

  • July 3: 6 p.m. to 11 p.m.
  • July 4: 6 p.m. to 12 a.m.
  • July 5: 6 p.m. to 11 p.m.

Blaine – July 4: 10 a.m. to 12 a.m.

Everson – July 3: 9 a.m. to 11 p.m., July 4: 9 a.m. to 12 a.m., July 5: 9 a.m. to 11 p.m.

Ferndale – July 4: 9 a.m. to 12 a.m.

Lynden – July 1 – 3: 9 a.m. to 11 p.m., July 4: 9 a.m. to 12 a.m., July 5: 9 a.m. to 9 p.m.

Nooksack – Follows state law

Sumas – Follows state law