Posted on March 22, 2012 at 5:18 PM
Malinda Miller was happy to get her roof repaired.
But what she didn't know, was that roofer never paid the bill for the materials. So, the supplier slapped a $4,000 lien on the Miller's home even though they'd paid their contractor in full.
In Washington state, a licensed contractor must carry a $12,000 bond. The bond is a financial assurance that the job will get done.
In this case the supplier was owed over $100,000. So, at least a dozen homeowners and the supplier are left to wrestle over $12,0000.
Washington Labor and Industries says the legislature sets the amount of bond in our state and it hasn't changed in almost a decade.
For perspective, Washington's bond amount is nearly the same as California. At $12,500. But, both states are far behind Oregon's requirement at $20,000.
The Building Industry Association of Washington says a jump in bond levels could be costly to consumers.
But the Miller's can't wait for legislation. They'll be saving money to pay for their roofing supplies, again.