SEATTLE – The cash for appliances rebates in Washington state will start earlier than expected. Beginning March 15, certain appliances will qualify for rebates up to $100.
Not everything will qualify. For example, you can't use it on a dryer, an air conditioner or a garbage disposal.
You also can't use the rebate for a new appliance in a new home. The whole idea is that you trade in, or permanently disable, a less energy efficient appliance to get the deal. The concept behind this use of stimulus money is to help retailers and manufacturers and make the nation more energy efficient in the process.
That's why a clothes washer is worth more - a $100 rebate vs. $75 for refrigerators. A more efficient clothes washer not only saves electricity, but it uses less water and makes less sewage.
Here are a few facts from the state Energy Efficiency Appliance Rebate Program as it applies to purchases in Washington.
- Rebates are not available retroactively for purchases made before the official start of the program. The start date was just moved up to March 15, though the official kickoff is April 1.
- You must replace an existing appliance in a residence in Washington state.
- There's a limit of one clothes washer and one refrigerator per household.
- Rebates are for appliances purchased from a store in Washington state or where proof of payment of Washington sales tax is marked on the receipt.
- For a refrigerator, proof must be provided that the replaced refrigerator was recycled, or at least decommissioned, in accordance with state disposal laws.
And when the money runs out, it's gone. More than $5.6 million of the program is administered by Washington state. Other states may differ and different appliances may qualify. The state expects to issue 60,000 rebates.
Here are the specs on which machines qualify.
- A clothes washer must be Energy Star qualified and have an efficiency rating or Modified Energy Factor (MEF) of 2.46 or greater and a WF of 4.0 or less.
- A refrigerator must also be Energy Star qualified and have a capacity greater than nine cubic feet.state will start earlier than expected. Beginning March 15, certain appliances will qualify for rebates up to $100. Not everything will qualify. For example, you can't use it on a dryer, an air conditioner or a garbage disposal.