OLYMPIA, Wash. -- Twelve Washington public schools are being honored for winning national awards.

Gov. Jay Inslee and Superintendent of Public Instruction Randy Dorn will honor the schools at a ceremony Wednesday evening at the governor s mansion.

The schools are all high-poverty schools that are being honored for their student s academic achievements and for their efforts to close learning gaps between white students and those from other ethnic groups.

Each of the schools wins a cash award to use for teacher training, team-building or planning.

The honored schools include: Columbia Ridge Elementary in Ephrata, Lake Forest Park Elementary in Shoreline, Burley-Glenwood Elementary in South Kitsap, Madison Elementary in Olympia, Neah Bay Elementary in Cape Flattery, Columbia Crest Elementary in Eatonville, East Olympia Elementary in Tumwater, Oakesdale Elementary in Oakesdale, Pe Ell School in Pe Ell, Selkirk Elementary in Selkirk, Skykomish School in Skykomish, and Blakely Elementary on Bainbridge Island.
Read or Share this story: