Three Seattle community colleges will drop the word community from their names.

At its meeting on March 13, the Seattle Community Colleges District Board of Trustees voted unanimously to change the name of the District to Seattle Colleges and to change the names of the colleges to Seattle Central College, North Seattle College and South Seattle College.

All three of the District's colleges now offer bachelor's degrees. The Bachelor of Applied Science (B.A.S.) degree programs provide the third and fourth year of college work for people who have completed a two-year technical degree. Previously the two-year technical degrees were considered terminal degrees with no next educational step.

In her presentation to the Board, District Chancellor Jill Wakefield said, We believe this will inspire prospective students to reach higher than they thought possible. With the same open admissions policies and the same low tuition, local students can start at a local college that can eventually take them all the way to a bachelor's degree.

The name changes are expected be fully implemented in September, in time for the start of the Fall Quarter.

Read or Share this story: