Washington s Austin Seferian-Jenkins won the John Mackey Award Wednesday as the nation s top college tight end.

Seferian-Jenkins caught 33 passes for 413 yards and 7 touchdowns in 11 games this season.

He will be presented the award in Orlando, Fla. Thursday afternoon during the red carpet show before the Home Depot College Football Awards Show. The presentation will be made between 3 p.m. and 4 p.m. PST live on ESPNU.

Huskies running back Bishop Sankey is also in Orlando. He is one of three finalists for the Doak Walker Award, which recognizes the nation s top college running back. That award will be presented during the awards show, which starts at 4 p.m. PST on ESPN Thursday.

Seferian-Jenkins is the first Husky player to win a national player of the year award since defensive tackle Steve Emtman won the Lombardi Award and the Outland Trophy in 1991.

Read or Share this story: