SEATTLE, Wash. (Sept. 29, 2011) Seattle Storm veterans Tanisha Wright and Swin Cash were recognized for their defensive skill as both were named to WNBA All-Defensive Teams announced today by the league. Wright was named to the five-player First Team and Cash to the Second Team.

The pair are part of the Storm team that held opponents to a league-low 69.9 points per game in the 2011 regular season.

For Wright, who started 32 games this year, it is her third consecutive appearance on the All-Defensive First Team. She received 35 points in the voting, including seven First Team votes.

Cash, the 2011 WNBA All-Star MVP, was recognized for the first time in the season-ending defensive awards. She received 16 points, including two First Team votes.

Rounding out the 2011 First Team are: Indiana Fever forward Tamika Catchings, Chicago Sky center Sylvia Fowles, Atlanta Dream forward Angel McCoughtry, and Minnesota Lynx forward Rebekkah Brunson.

Joining Cash on the WNBA All-Defensive Second Team are: Dream guard Armintie Price, Connecticut Sun center Tina Charles, Dream forward Sancho Lyttle, and Indiana Fever guard Katie Douglas.

A panel of the WNBA s 12 head coaches voted on the WNBA All-Defensive Team, selecting First and Second Teams by position. Coaches were not permitted to vote for players from their own team. Players earned five points for each First Team vote and three points for a Second Team vote.

Read or Share this story: