1 LINKEDINCOMMENTMORE

OLYMPIA -- Smokers could pay a hefty fine for lighting up in a car with a minor Washington state.

Lawmakers in Olympia are taking public comment during a hearing Tuesday on House Bill 2086.

Under the bill, a person who lights up a cigarette, cigar or pipe in a moving or parked car with a minor inside would be guilty of a traffic infraction. The fine could range from $125 to $250.

The bill does add a provision that the infraction would not be on a person s driving record and would not be disclosed to insurance companies or employers.

A total ban on smoking in cars with minors has failed to pass in Washington before.

Supporters have cited health concerns while critics say the government should butt out of someone's personal choices.

The hearing is at 3:30 p.m. Tuesday at 260A John L. O'Brien in Olympia. If you cannot appear before a committee, you can let your legislator know your position by calling that legislator s Olympia office or by calling the legislative hotline at (800) 562-6000.

Find your legislator

What do you think?Join our Facebook conversation

Read or Share this story: http://www.king5.com/story/news/politics/2014/08/05/13373988/