Mariners All-Star Notebook (1977-12)


by Sportspress Northwest Staff


Posted on July 11, 2012 at 4:30 PM

RHP Felix Hernandez is the Mariners' sole representative at the Major League All-Star Game Tuesday night at Royals Stadium in Kansas City. Hernandez is an All-Star for the third time (2009, 2011), and just the sixth player in franchise history with three or more All-Star selections.

The franchise has had 75 All-Star selections, 10 each by Ken Griffey Jr. (1989-99) and Ichiro (2001-12), with a team record of eight in 2001 when the Mariners were en route to 116 victories.

While this year's All-Star rosters include just one Mariner,  six ex-Mariners made the trip to Kansas City, including Adrian Beltre (2005-09) of Texas, David Ortiz (1994-96, minors) of Boston, Asdrubal Cabrera (2004-07, minors) of Cleveland, Adam Jones (2006-07) of Baltimore, Brian LaHair (2008) of the Chicago Cubs and R.A. Dickey (2008) of the New York Mets.

This is a brief primer on the Mariners' All-Star Game history:

FIRST ALL-STAR: Ruppert Jones, 1977. The most popular player on the inaugural  roster, Jones made the All-Star team as a reserve outfielder who hit 17 home runs in the first half. Acquired by the Mariners in the 1976 expansion draft, Jones played in Seattle until Nov. 1, 1979 when the Mariners traded him with Jim Lewis to the New York Yankees for Rick Anderson, Jim Beattie, Juan Beniquez and Jerry Narron. Jones made the National League All-Star team in 1982 playing for San Diego.

MOST ALL-STARS: (8, 2001): Brett Boone, 2B; Mike Cameron, OF; John Olerud, 1B; Edgar Martinez, DH; Ichiro, OF; Freddy Garcia, RHP; Jeff Nelson, RHP, Kazuhiro Sasaki, RHP; (5, 1996), Jay Buhner, OF; Ken Griffey Jr., OF), Martinez, DH. (5, 1996): Buhner, Griffey; Martinez; Alex Rodriguez, SS; Dan Wilson, C.  (5, 2003): Boone, Ichiro, Martinez, LHP Jamie Moyer, RHP Shigetoshi Hasagawa.

LEADING VOTE GETTERS: Two Mariners, Griffey (1989-99, '09-10) and Ichiro have led the voting, Griffey five times: 1994 (6,079,688), 1996 (3,064,814), 1997 (3,514,340), 1998 (4,202,830) and 1999 (2,918,055), and Ichiro three times in 2001 (3,373,035), 2002 (2,516,016), 2003 (2,130,708).

MOST SELECTIONS (PLAYER): Ken Griffey Jr. (10), 1990, 1991, 1992 (MVP), 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999; Ichiro (10), 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007 (MVP), 2008, 2009, 2010; Edgar Martinez (7), 1992, 1995, 1996, 1997, 2000, 2001, 2003; Alex Rodriguez (4), 1996, 1997, 1998, 2000.

MOST SELECTIONS (PITCHER): Randy Johnson (5), 1990, 1993, 1994, 1995, 1997; Felix Hernandez (3), 2009, 2011, 2012 (Hernandez did not make the All-Star team the year he won the Cy Young award).

SELECTED, DID NOT PLAY (7): Craig Reynolds, SS, 1978; Rick Honeycutt, LHP, 1980; Jim Presley, 3B, 1986; Randy Johnson, LHP, 1990; Ken Griffey Jr., 1995 (injured); Alex Rodriguez, SS, 2000 (injured); Felix Hernandez, RHP, 2011.

MOST VALUABLE PLAYERS (2) Griffey won in 1992 at San Diego when he went 3-for-3, with a home run and two RBIs; Ichiro won in 2007 when he went 3-for-3 at AT&T Park San Francisco and hit the first inside-the-park home run in All-Star Game history.

ALL-STAR HOME RUNS (4): Ken Griffey Jr., 1992 (solo off Greg Maddux); Edgar Martinez, 1997 (solo off Maddux); 1998, Alex Rodriguez (solo off Andy Ashby); Ichiro, 2007 (inside-the-park, off Chris Young).

HOME RUN DERBY WINNERS: Ken Griffey Jr. 1994, 1998, 1999.

MULTI-HIT GAMES (6): Ken Griffey Jr., 1991 (2-for-3); 1992 (3-for-3), 1994 (2-for-3); 1998 (2-for-3); Alex Rodriguez, 1993 (2-for-3); Ichiro, 2007 (3-for-3).

ALL-STAR STARTER (2): Randy Johnson, 1995 (no runs, no hits, three strikeouts, 2.0 IP); Johnson, 1997 (no runs, no hits, 2.0 IP, one walk, two strikeouts).

WINNING PITCHERS (1): Freddy Garcia, 2001 (no runs, no hits, 1.0 IP, strikeout, faced three batters).

ALL-STAR SAVES/BLOWN SAVES (3): Kazuhiro Sasaki (S), 2001; Sasaki (BS), 2002; Shigetoshi Hasegawa (BS), 2003.


ALL-STAR GAMES IN SEATTLE (2): 1979 (Kingdome), NL 7, AL 6; W: Bruce Sutter; L: Jim Kern; MVP: Dave Parker, Pittsburgh. 2001 (Safeco Field), AL 4, NL 1; W: Freddy Garcia; L: Chan Ho Park; MVP: Cal Ripken Jr., Baltimore Orioles.MARINERS ALL-STARS (1977-12)

YearPlayerPos.All-Star Game
1977Ruppert JonesOF0-for-1 as a pinch hitter
1978Craig ReynoldsSSSelected but did not play
1979Bruce Bochte1B1-for-1 with RBI in Kingdome
1980Rick HoneycuttLHPSelected but did not pitch
1981Tom PaciorekOF1-for-1 as a PH
1982Floyd BannisterLHPOne scoreless inning (no hits)
1983Matt YoungLHP1.0 IP, no runs or hits, 1 K
1984Alvin Davis1B0-for-1 as a PH
1985Phil BradleyOFPlayed CF, went 0-1-for-1
1986Jim Presley3B18 home runs at break, but did not play
1987Mark LangstonLHP2.0 IP, 0 H, 0 R, 0 BB, 3 K
Harold Reynolds2B0-for-3
1988Harold Reynolds (2)2B0-for-1 as reserve
1989Jeffrey LeonardOF0-for-1 as a DH and PH
1990Ken Griffey Jr.OF0-for-2 as starter
Randy JohnsonLHP9-4 record at break, didn't pitch
1991Ken Griffey Jr. (2)OF2-for-3 (2 singles) as starter
1992Ken Griffey Jr. (3)OF3-for-3, HR, 2 RBIs, MVP
Edgar Martinez3B0-for-1 as a PH in 13-6 AL win
1993Ken Griffey Jr. (4)OF1-for-3 (single) RBI
Randy Johnson (2)LHP2.0 IP, 0 hits, 0 walks, 1 K
1994Ken Griffey Jr. (5)OFWent 2-for-3, double and RBI
Randy Johnson (3)LHP2 hits, 1 run facing 4 batters
1995Ken Griffey Jr. (6)OFMissed game with broken wrist
Randy Johnson (4)LHP2.0 IP, no hits, 3 K
Edgar Martinez (2)DH0-for-3
Tino Martinez1B1-for-1, PH for Edgar Martinez
1996Jay BuhnerOF0-for-2
Ken Griffey Jr. (7)OFDNP due to injury
Edgar Martinez (3)DH0-for-1
Alex RodriguezSS0-for 1
Dan WilsonC0-for-1
1997Joey Cora2B0-for-1
Ken Griffey Jr. (8)OF30 HRs, 85 RBIs at break; 0-for-4
Edgar Martinez (4)DH2-for-2 with solo home run
Alex Rodriguez (2)SS1-for-3 as starting SS
1998Ken Griffey Jr. (9)OF35 HRs at break; 2-for-3
Alex Rodriguez (3)SSWent 2-for-3 with HR
1999Ken Griffey Jr. (10)OFFinal ASG as Mariner, 0-for-2
2000Edgar Martinez (5)DH23 HRs at break; 0-for-1
Alex Rodriguez (4)SSDNP due to injury
Aaron SeleRHP1.0 IP, 1 hit, credited with hold
Lou PiniellaCoachServed on AL staff in 6-3 win
2001Bret Boone2BStarted at 2B; 0-for-2
Mike CameronOF1-for-3 (double) with a K
John Olerud1B0-for-2
Edgar Martinez (6)DH0-for-2
Ichiro SuzukiOFInfield single off Randy Johnson
Freddy GarciaRHP1.0 IP, first SP to win All-Star game
Jeff NelsonRHP1.0 hitless; credited for hold
Kazuhiro SasakiRHP1.0 IP; 1st Mariner to get save
Lou PiniellaCoachServed on manager Joe Torre's staff
2002Ichiro Suzuki (2)OFAL's leading vote getter; 0-for-2
Freddie Garcia (2)RHP2.0 IP, on mound when Selig called game
Kazuhiro Sasaki (2)RHPAllowed 3 runs, blew save
2003Ichiro Suzuki (3)OFAL's leading vote getter; 0-for-1
Edgar Martinez (7)DH0-for-2
Jamie MoyerRHPWorked 1.0 inning, no hits
Shigetoshi HasegawaRHPShelled for 4 runs; blew save
Bret Boone (2)2B0-for-2 with a K
2004Ichiro Suzuki (4)OF1-for-3, scored a run
2005Ichiro Suzuki (5)OF1-for-2 with 2 RBIs
2006Jose Lopez2BPR, no AB, played 3B
Ichiro Suzuki (6)OF0-for-3
2007J.J. PutzRHP0.2 innings, 2 earned runs
Ichiro Suzuki (7)OF3-for-3, inside-park HR, MVP
2008Ichiro Suzuki (8)OF1-for-3 in 4-3, 15-inning win
2009Felix HernandezRHP8 pitches, no hits or runs
Ichiro Suzuki (9)OF1-for-3
2010Ichiro Suzuki (10)OF0-for-2 with one strikeout
2011Felix Hernandez (2)RHPDid not pitch
Michael PinedaRHPWorked 1.0 innings, 2 strikeouts
Brandon LeagueRHP1.0 inning, 2 hits, 1 run
2012Felix Hernandez (3)RHP6-5, 3.13 ERA, 128 Ks, 1.22 WHIP entering game

More Sportspress Northwest