Russell Wilson named NFL's 'Good Guy' for 2013

Russell Wilson named NFL's 'Good Guy' for 2013

Credit: Elizabeth Wiley / KING 5

The Seattle Seahawks Super Bowl victory parade and celebration takes place on February 5th, 2014 in Seattle, Wash.


by KING 5 News

Posted on June 17, 2014 at 10:41 AM

The Professional Football Writers of America (PFWA) have given Seahawks quarterback Russell Wilson the 2013 Good Guy Award.

"The classic underdog, Wilson is a walking example of the value of determination and diligence. He often recounts the messages of his father ... family, teamwork, sportsmanship. He has played himself into a position as the face of the Seahawks franchise, but he is also the voice and conscience of it, too," said Dave Boling of the Tacoma News Tribune.

The award recognizes players for their qualities and professionalism in helping pro football writers do their jobs. This is the tenth Good Guy Award.

Wilson is the first Seahawks player and sixth quarterback to win this award.

The second-year quarterback led the Seahawks to a 13-3 regular season record and the franchise's first Super Bowl title with a 43-8 win over Denver.

Good Guy Award winners:
2005 - Jerome Bettis (Pittsburgh Steelers);
2006 - Tiki Barber (New York Giants);
2007 - LaDainian Tomlinson (San Diego Chargers);
2008 - Brett Favre (Green Bay Packers);
2009 - Kurt Warner (Arizona Cardinals);
2010 - Drew Brees (New Orleans Saints);
2011 - Aaron Rodgers (Green Bay Packers);
2012 - Tim Tebow (Denver Broncos);
2013 - Tony Gonzalez (Atlanta Falcons);
2014 - Russell Wilson (Seattle Seahawks).