Clint Dempsey leads the Sounders past Dallas, 3-2

FRISCO, Texas -- Clint Dempsey scored twice to lead Seattle Sounders FC to a 3-2 victory over FC Dallas on Saturday night.

Dempsey scored the winning goal in the 85th minute when he fired a shot from inside of 6 yards into the center of the net. He had three goals in his last game in Seattle's 4-4 tie with Portland.

Seattle (3-2-1) handed Dallas (4-1-1) its first loss of the season.

Seattle tied it 2 on an own goal by Dallas' Stephen Keel in the 75th minute. The goal came after Dempsey attempted a cross from the right side that bounced off of the side of Keel's leg and into the left corner of the net. Dempsey's first goal came off a free kick in the 22nd minute after he fired a bending shot that landed just inside the goal line to tie it at 1.

Michel scored on a penalty kick in the 42nd minute to give Dallas a 2-1 lead. Dallas was awarded the penalty kick after Seattle's DeAndre Yedlin committed a hard foul on David Texeira in the penalty area. Texeira scored on a header in the 11th minute for the game's first score.

Seattle FC 1 2--3
FC Dallas 2 0--2

First half--1, FC Dallas, Texeira 1, 10th minute. 2, Seattle FC, Dempsey 5, 22nd. 3, FC Dallas, Michel 3 (penalty kick), 42nd.

Second half--4, Seattle FC, Keel (own goal), 75th. 5, Seattle FC, Dempsey 6 (Barrett), 85th.

Goalies--Seattle FC, Stefan Frei; FC Dallas, Chris Seitz.

Yellow Cards--Neagle, Seattle FC, 12th; Alonso, Seattle FC, 19th; Watson, FC Dallas, 20th; Yedlin, Seattle FC, 41st; Texeira, FC Dallas, 45th+; Thomas, FC Dallas, 46th; Castillo, FC Dallas, 60th; Barrett, Seattle FC, 90th+.

Referee--Juan Guzman. Assistant Referees--Ian Anderson. Jonathan Johnson. 4th Official--Alejandro Mariscal.

A--17,070 (21,193)



Seattle FC--Stefan Frei, Chad Marshall, Leo Gonzalez, Djimi Traore, DeAndre Yedlin, Gonzalo Pineda, Lamar Neagle (Chad Barrett, 73rd), Osvaldo Alonso, Clint Dempsey, Kenny Cooper (Marco Pappa, 68th), Obafemi Martins (Micheal Azira, 90th).

FC Dallas--Chris Seitz, Zach Loyd, Jair Benitez, Stephen Keel, Michel, Matt Hedges, Hendry Thomas, Mauro Diaz, Je-Vaughn Watson (Peter Luccin, 70th), Fabian Castillo, David Texeira (Tesho Akindele, 89th).


To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment