John Olerud & Dan Wilson talk about the M's "Sweet 116" season


by New Day Producers

Posted on August 5, 2011 at 11:22 AM

Updated Friday, Aug 5 at 11:22 AM

The Seattle Mariners have carved out a number of memorable moments over the past 34 years, including one especially magical season in 2001. That's the year Lou Piniella skippered the m's to a major league record 116 wins in the regular season and the American League West Division title.

Who can forget names like: Edgar Martinez, Bret Boone, Jay Buhner, Mike Cameron, Mark McLemore, David Bell, Stan Javier, Aaron Sele, Jamie Moyer and 2001 MVP Ichiro? Nearly two dozen players from that season are scheduled to take part in special ceremonies at Safeco Field Friday and Saturday.

First Baseman John Olerud and Catcher Dan Wilson, two members from that magical team who are still fan favorites, great guys and amazing contributors to the community, joined us to talk about this weekend's events and share their favorite memories from 2001.

For more information about this weekend's special events and the rest of the Mariners' season, click here.

Here are some highlights from this weekend's activities:

Friday, July 15, Mark McLemore-Mike Cameron Sweet 116 Bobblehead Night.  The first 20,000 fans receive a special dual bobblehead honoring the 116 win season.  It represents the respectful celebration parading the American flag around the field after the team clinched the American League West Division title on September 19, 2001.  McLemore will throw out the ceremonial first pitch before the game.

Saturday, July 16, 2001 10th Anniversary Celebration.  The first 20,000 fans will receive a T-shirt commemorating the record-setting season.  Many members of the 2001 team will participate in a pregame ceremony and former Mariners General Manager Pat Gillick (who will be inducted into the Baseball Hall of Fame on July 24), will throw out the ceremonial first pitch.  The pregame ceremony will be streamed live on
Scheduled to attend
Pat Gillick
Lou Piniella
Ichiro Suzuki*
Bret Boone
Dan Wilson
John Olerud
Jay Buhner
Norm Charlton
Mark McLemore
Jamie Moyer
Aaron Sele
Arthur Rhodes*
Jeff Nelson
Tom Lampkin
Al Martin
Charles Gipson
John Halama
Paul Abbott
Ryan Franklin
Coach John McLaren
Coach Matt Sinatro
Coach John Moses
*Active players